[Pharmwaste] Hawaii alows take back; CVS installs 17 kiosks. CT last state to not allow.
EGottlieb at cityofithaca.org
Mon Sep 30 13:47:41 EDT 2019
Correction, MN became DEA compliant in 2016, more than "a couple" of years ago.
I think MO was on a timeline similar to MN. I should have said, "over the last three years".
Anyone know when AK changed their law(s)? Thanks!
From: Pharmwaste <pharmwaste-bounces at lists.dep.state.fl.us> On Behalf Of Ed Gottlieb
Sent: Monday, September 30, 2019 11:43 AM
To: pharmwaste at lists.dep.state.fl.us
Subject: [Pharmwaste] Hawaii alows take back; CVS installs 17 kiosks. CT last state to not allow.
Hawaii recently passed legislation allowing for DEA authorized take back. This legislation is a huge improvement over a deferred 2018 bill, which would have limited pharmacies to accepting only medications they dispensed. That is a totally unworkable option for many reasons, including that DEA rules forbid pharmacy staff from touching previously dispensed medications.
Completed Legislative Action [Hawaii]
Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 24-1)
Status: Passed on July 5 2019 - 100% progression
Action: 2019-07-05 - Act 183, 07/02/2019 (Gov. Msg. No. 1285).
Text: Latest bill text (Amended) [HTML]<https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Flegiscan.com%2FHI%2Ftext%2FHB1272%2F2019&data=02%7C01%7Cjennifer.volkman%40state.mn.us%7Ce7dce710829c4e03121408d745c55fb7%7Ceb14b04624c445198f26b89c2159828c%7C0%7C0%7C637054586330606352&sdata=b2u4WFNoeuUjhrF%2FQ8AUT7bDftM4j93XEn8%2BKDVgJBU%3D&reserved=0>
Authorizes pharmacies to accept the return of any prescription drug for disposal via collection receptacles or mail-back programs; prohibits pharmacies from redispensing returned prescription drugs or accepting returned prescription drugs in exchange for cash or credit; requires the pharmacist-in-charge to ensure that only authorized reverse distributors acquire prescription drugs collected via collection receptacles or mail-back programs. (SD1)
Other states that cleared the way for DEA authorized pharmacy take back in the last couple of years:
Alaska; Minnesota; & Missouri
I think Connecticut is the only state with law(s) prohibiting DEA authorized pharmacy take back.
https://www.ct.gov/deep/cwp/view.asp?a=2718&q=437868<https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ct.gov%2Fdeep%2Fcwp%2Fview.asp%3Fa%3D2718%26q%3D437868&data=02%7C01%7Cjennifer.volkman%40state.mn.us%7Ce7dce710829c4e03121408d745c55fb7%7Ceb14b04624c445198f26b89c2159828c%7C0%7C0%7C637054586330616343&sdata=S11YYBeSus2yBT6ahXGR4QVzHkKnxPE0oPfxIetMovg%3D&reserved=0> (last updated Aug 20, 2019).
Will a Connecticut regulator (3 Bcc'd) please let us know if this has changed, or if a change is in progress? If accurate, and no change is planned, will you please explain why? Thank you!
Chair, Tompkins County Coalition for Safe Medication Disposal
Industrial Pretreatment Coordinator
Ithaca Area Wastewater Treatment Facility
525 3rd Street
Ithaca, NY 14850
NOTICE: This email (including attachments) is covered by the Electronic Communications Privacy Act, 18 U.S.C. 2510-2521. This email may be confidential and may be legally privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any retention, dissemination, distribution, or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. Please reply back to the sender that you have received this message in error, then delete it. Thank you
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
More information about the Pharmwaste