Laws and Penalties Associated with
Disposal of Hazardous Waste Electronics

Some electronic equipment, notably computer monitors and other cathode ray
tubes (CRTSs) exhibit the hazardous characteristic of toxicity for metals. Sections
403.708 and 403.727, Florida Statutes (FS) prohibit disposal of hazardous waste
in any way that violates state rules. Florida’s hazardous waste rules are in
Chapter 62-730, Florida Administrative Code (FAC). All rules from the Code of
Federal Regulations (CFR) cited in this summary have been adopted by
reference as state law in Chapter 62-730, FAC.

40 (CFR) 262.11 requires every person who generates a solid waste to
determine whether the waste meets the definition of hazardous waste.

40 CFR 262.12(c) prohibits hazardous waste generators from sending hazardous
waste to any location that does not have an EPA identification number.

40 CFR 262.20 requires use of the manifest system to transport hazardous
waste.

40 CFR 261.5(g)(3) requires conditionally exempt small quantity generators to
"ensure delivery" of their hazardous waste to a permitted facility or recycler.

Rule 62-701.300(4), FAC prohibits disposal of hazardous waste in any landfill in
Florida unless the landfill has a hazardous waste permit.

There are no commercial hazardous waste landfills in Florida. Waste to energy
incinerators are prohibited by their air operating permits from accepting
hazardous waste.

People recycling e-waste should keep records. See 40 CFR 261.2(f)

Violation of any hazardous waste rules can subject the violator to fines of up to
$50,000 per day, under s. 403.727(3)(a), FS. Knowing or reckless disposal of
hazardous waste at any location except a facility permitted to dispose of
hazardous waste is a third degree felony as provided in s. 403.727(3)(b), FS,
punishable for the first conviction by a fine of not more than $50,000 for each day
of violation or imprisonment not to exceed 5 years, or both, and for any
subsequent conviction by a fine of not more than $100,000 per day of violation or
imprisonment of not more than 10 years, or both.

More information about disposal and recycling of e-waste is available at the
Florida Department of Environmental Protection website
http://www.dep.state.fl.us/waste/cateqories/electronics/default.htm




